Pixelab Beauty Clinic · Gangnam, Seoul · Interpreters English · 日本語 · 繁體中文 · 简体中文

Opus RF · Alma handpieces for firmness and texture

Opus (Alma)in Seoul

Dr. Jongkeun SongPlans your treatment and settings
3–5Sessions,
4 weeks apart
Same dayFly home
after treatment
₩600,000From, per session
+ VAT

UniFace, Coaxipolar and RF Pixel are the three Alma Opus handpieces on the price list at Pixelab Beauty Clinic, sold by energy in kilojoules or by session. UniFace and Coaxipolar are aimed at firmness across the face, forehead and eye area, RF Pixel at pores, texture and small scars, and the clinic's guide plans 3 to 5 sessions four weeks apart.

Alma Lasers · OpusAlma Lasers · Opus
Cross-sections: rough, uneven texture, an Opus tip delivering energy in a grid of micro-points, and denser collagen after
How the Opus tip delivers energy through a grid of fine micro-points (illustration).

Is it for you?

Who Opus RF treatment suits

Opus works with radiofrequency heat, and heat in the dermis is a slow signal: the skin answers it by rebuilding collagen over the weeks after each session. That makes the treatment a fit for skin that has started to loosen or roughen without large folds of excess skin, and for people who can return for a short series.

The reasons to wait are about the skin's ability to heal. RF energy on an infected, inflamed or sunburned surface can deepen irritation and leave pigment behind, and electrical current is a concern near implanted electronic devices. Each item on the right is a reason to postpone or to talk it through first, and several of them pass with time.

Usually a good fit

  • Early loss of firmness on the cheeks, jawline or forehead
  • Fine lines and crepey texture
  • Enlarged pores or uneven, rough texture
  • A small scar under 3 cm, or settled acne scars
  • Able to return 3 to 5 times, four weeks apart

We may suggest waiting

  • Pregnancy or breastfeeding
  • Inflamed acne, infection or a cold sore on the area
  • Sunburn or a fresh tan on the face
  • A pacemaker or other implanted electronic device
  • Keloid-prone skin (judged case by case)
  • Heavy sagging with loose, folded skin
Dr. Jongkeun Song

Your doctor

Dr. Jongkeun Song

Founder and medical director · Korean board-certified plastic surgeon

“From learning to teaching.”Trained at Seoul & Incheon St. Mary's Hospitals. Now leading hands-on sessions for visiting doctors.

8Medical societies
2Korea Best Brand Awards
GlobalAlma Titanium trainer
  • ResidentPlastic surgery, Catholic Univ. Seoul St. Mary's Hospital
  • FellowClinical fellow, Incheon St. Mary's Hospital
  • AlmaTitanium Global Trainer
  • JeisysDENSITY ALPHA TIP Ambassador
  • MemberKorean Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons

How it works

How Opus handpieces deliver radiofrequency energy

Opus is a radiofrequency (RF) platform. RF current makes tissue resist an alternating electrical field, and that resistance turns into heat. When the dermis is warmed to the right range, collagen fibers contract and the skin starts a repair cycle that lays down new collagen in the weeks that follow.

The Opus name is tied to Alma's fractional plasma technology. In studies of fractional microplasma RF, current passes through a grid of fine pins and forms tiny plasma sparks at the skin surface, leaving pinpoint micro-wounds with untouched skin between them, and those bridges are what the skin heals from (Lan, 2020). Fractional work of this kind is what leaves the fine crusts listed in the clinic's downtime guide.

The clinic splits the handpieces by area, which is why a plan can join two of them. The forehead and the skin around the eyes are thinner and sit over bone, so they are handled differently from the broad cheeks, and the 80 kJ combined plan includes the forehead for that reason. RF Pixel is kept apart for texture work and scarred skin.

Most published data for this technology come from scar studies. A split-face trial found fractional microplasma RF improved atrophic acne scars more than microneedle RF, at the cost of more discomfort and downtime (Lan, 2020), and a multicenter series reported lower acne scar scores after three sessions, with no control group (Han, 2024). None of these studies used the clinic's own device, and firmness claims for Opus rest on less direct evidence.

According to the clinic's records, Pixelab Beauty Clinic was the first plastic surgery clinic in Korea to introduce the Opus platform.

1

Skin and goal check

At consultation

Laxity, pores and any scars are looked at, and the handpiece mix and energy plan are matched to them.

2

Cleansing and numbing

Makeup is removed and numbing cream goes on the zones to be treated.

3

Handpiece passes

Each zone is treated in turn, with energy set separately for the forehead, eye area and cheeks.

4

Soothing care

The skin is cooled and calmed; the RF Pixel set adds 1 cc of exosome and soothing care.

5

Aftercare and next date

Sunscreen and cleansing instructions are given, along with the date of the next session four weeks on.

Opus handpieces and plans at Pixelab Beauty Clinic

CriteriaUniFaceCoaxipolarRF Pixel
Areas on the menuFull face, forehead, eye area, small body zonesFull face, forehead, around the eyesFull face and scarred areas
Aimed atFirmness and fine linesFirmness in delicate zonesPores, texture, scars and stretch marks
Sold as50 kJ, or 80 kJ with Coaxipolar30 kJ, or 80 kJ with UniFace1 session with exosome and soothing care
From₩600,000 + VAT₩600,000 + VAT₩600,000 + VAT

The table follows how the clinic's menu describes each handpiece and is not a ranking.

Session by session

WhenWhat to expect
Session 1Handpieces and energy are matched to your concern and the first plan is delivered.
Sessions 2–3Four weeks apart; energy and handpiece mix follow how the skin reacted last time.
Sessions 4–5Added when texture or scars still need work, keeping the four-week gap.

At a glance

Opus treatment facts from the clinic's guide

NumbingNumbing cream
DowntimeRedness, warmth and fine crusts for a few days; varies by mode
Recommended sessionsTypically 3–5 sessions, 4 weeks apart
How long results lastDiffers with the mode used and the aim of treatment
Earliest flight homeSame-day flight home is possible

Prices

Opus Cost in South Korea

Opus plans are sized by energy. A kilojoule (kJ) figure is the total energy delivered in a session, so 30, 50 and 80 kJ describe how much treatment the plan holds. The 80 kJ plan joins UniFace and Coaxipolar and includes the forehead.

Scar work and RF Pixel are counted another way. A single scar shorter than 3 cm is one line on the price list, and RF Pixel is sold as a set with 1 cc of exosome and soothing care. The 1-year subscription is one total for a year of Opus treatment; the price list does not print how many visits it covers, so have that written into your quote.

Tax sits outside these figures. Korea's 10% VAT is charged when you pay, so each card below shows the list price and, under it, the amount you will actually be charged.

UniFace

50 kJ₩600,000 + VAT₩660,000 with VATBook now

Coaxipolar

30 kJ₩600,000 + VAT₩660,000 with VATBook now

UniFace + Coaxipolar

80 kJ, forehead included₩990,000 + VAT₩1,089,000 with VATBook now

RF Pixel

1 session + exosome 1 cc + soothing care₩600,000 + VAT₩660,000 with VATBook now

Scar, 1 area

Under 3 cm₩150,000 + VAT₩165,000 with VATBook now

Opus 1-year subscription

One-year total₩3,300,000 + VAT₩3,630,000 with VATVisit schedule set in your quoteBook now

Recovery

After an Opus session: what to watch

Treatment day

Warmth and redness start; flying home the same day is possible

The next few days

Fine crusts may form where fractional energy was used; let them fall off without picking

While the skin is pink

Daily sunscreen and a gentle cleanser; pause scrubs, acids and retinoids

Week 4

The next session in a series falls four weeks after this one

Safety

What Opus can cause, and what it cannot do

Every reaction below traces back to heat in the skin or to the pinpoint surface wounds left by fractional energy.

  • Redness, warmth and swelling for a few days.
  • Fine crusts or a sandpaper feel where fractional energy was used.
  • Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, a temporary darkening that sun exposure can worsen.
  • Acne-like breakouts, or a cold sore flare in people who carry the herpes virus.
  • Burns, blisters or marks if heat builds too much in one spot.
  • A modest or uneven change in firmness, which varies from person to person.

A prospective study of 95 people with burn scars treated by fractional microplasma RF recorded lasting pigmentation, acne-like eruptions and herpes outbreaks as complications, even though scar color and thickness improved (Wang, 2017). A network meta-analysis of six light and energy treatments for atrophic acne scars kept fractional CO2 laser as the mainstream choice and placed plasma RF as an option for people who can tolerate pain and want a larger change, while noting how few trials exist (Wang, 2023).

Message the clinic if redness keeps spreading, a blister appears, or crusts start to ooze or smell.

Evidence

Research behind this page

  1. Comparison of Fractional Micro‐Plasma Radiofrequency and Fractional Microneedle Radiofrequency for the Treatment of Atrophic Acne Scars: A Pilot Randomized Split‐Face Clinical Study in ChinaLasers in Surgery and Medicine · 2020 · Lan T et al. · doi:10.1002/lsm.23369

    A small split-face randomized trial in which fractional microplasma RF and microneedle RF both improved atrophic acne scars; plasma RF did more, microneedle RF caused less discomfort and downtime. The device was not the clinic's own.

  2. Treatment of Atrophic Acne Scarring with Fractional Microplasma Radiofrequency: A Multicentric ExperienceJPRAS Open · 2024 · Han J et al. · doi:10.1016/j.jpra.2024.03.016

    A multicenter series of 86 people with atrophic acne scars whose scar scores fell after three fractional microplasma RF sessions, with short-lived pain, redness and swelling; there was no control group.

  3. Fractional microplasma radiofrequency technology for non‐hypertrophic post‐burn scars in Asians: A prospective study of 95 patientsLasers in Surgery and Medicine · 2017 · Wang S et al. · doi:10.1002/lsm.22640

    A prospective study of 95 people with burn scars: color, thickness and pliability improved after 3 to 5 sessions, while lasting pigmentation, acne-like eruptions and herpes outbreaks were recorded as complications.

  4. Comparative efficacy and safety of six photoelectric therapies for the atrophic acne scars: A network meta-analysisIndian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprology · 2023 · Wang Y et al. · doi:10.25259/ijdvl_572_2021

    A network meta-analysis of six light and energy treatments for atrophic acne scars, with fractional CO2 still the mainstream option and plasma RF suited to people who accept more pain; few studies were available.

FAQ

Questions about Opus RF treatment

Which Opus handpiece suits my skin?

That depends on what you want to change. UniFace and Coaxipolar are the handpieces the clinic uses for firmness across the face, forehead and eye area. RF Pixel is kept for pores, rough texture and scars. A combined plan joins the first two, and its 80 kJ price includes the forehead.

What is the downtime after Opus RF treatment?

A few days of redness, warmth and fine crusting, according to the clinic's guide, with the length differing by mode. Fractional work for pores and scars leaves more surface crusting than a firming pass, and higher energy or a larger area adds to it. Hold off on makeup until the crusts have lifted.

Can I fly home on the day of my Opus session?

Yes. The clinic's guide says a same-day flight home is possible. With sessions spaced four weeks apart, one trip covers one session unless you stay in Seoul for more than a month, so plan return visits around that gap and keep sunscreen and a plain moisturizer in your cabin bag.

How many Opus treatments are recommended?

The clinic's guide lists 3 to 5 sessions with four weeks between them. Where you land in that range depends on the concern: texture and scars build up change over a series, and how the skin responds after each session shows whether another one is worthwhile.

What does the Opus 1-year subscription cover?

It is one price for a year of Opus treatment, listed at ₩3,300,000 before VAT. The price list does not state how many visits or which handpieces the year includes, so ask for both in writing before buying it, especially if you live abroad and can only visit a few times.

Can Opus help acne scars or a small scar?

Yes, as one option among several. The price list has a single-scar line for areas under 3 cm, and RF Pixel is the handpiece used on scarred skin. Research on fractional microplasma RF for acne scars is small and mixed, so expect scars to soften gradually over several sessions and to stay partly visible.

Does Opus hurt?

Numbing cream is applied before the passes. Even so, you can feel heat and a prickling or snapping sensation, more so over bony areas such as the forehead and with fractional settings. Say so during treatment if a zone feels too hot, and the energy for that zone can be lowered.

Is the doctor at Pixelab Beauty Clinic a plastic surgeon?

Yes. The clinic's single physician is Dr. Jongkeun Song, a Korean board-certified plastic surgeon and a member of the Korean Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons. Training in this specialty covers how skin heals after injury, which bears directly on scar work with RF Pixel.

Is VAT added to the Opus prices?

Yes, 10% VAT is added at payment. The UniFace 50 kJ plan, for instance, is ₩600,000 on the list and ₩660,000 once tax is included. Exosome and soothing care come only with the RF Pixel set, so check that your quote names each item you expect.

Is there English support for Opus consultations?

There is. An English interpreter is on staff for your visit. For questions before the trip, such as whether RF Pixel or a firming plan fits your concern, send a WhatsApp message in English, and you will hear back as soon as possible.

What should I know about deposits before booking Opus?

This page does not state deposit or cancellation rules for Opus. Before paying anything, ask for them by message, along with how a subscription or a multi-session plan is handled if your travel dates change, and keep that reply until your treatment is finished.

Consultation

Tell us about your treatment

Tell us what you would like to treat and your travel dates. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

We reply as soon as possible.

Book now
Book